The Left Outsides – There Is A Place (EIA009)


Strictly limited LP of haunting, pastoral psych-folk on C36 cassette. Split between 25 x spring green + 25 x forest brown tapes. Limited edition of 50 copies. Includes hand-printed artwork on 100% recycled card stock + digital download code.

A1. Cry of the Hunter
A2. One Step at a Time
A3. Into the Deep
A4. Time Makes a Fool of Us All
B1. Under Noonday Sun
B2. The House of the Stone Bell
B3. Civil War Lament
B4. The Creeping Fog

Released: May 26, 2017

Out of stock

The Left Outsides, Mark Nicholas and Alison Cotton, are a husband and wife duo based in London, England whose atmospheric, hypnotic songs echo Nico’s icy European folk, pastoral psychedelia and chilly English fields at dawn.

Previous releases include albums, ‘The Shape of Things to Come’, ‘And Colours In Between,’ and a live album ‘Live At The Drop Out’.

Before The Left Outsides, Mark and Alison were members of the psych folk group The Eighteenth Day of May. Alison was also in John Peel favourites Saloon, and in the past decade her sought-after viola-playing has led to high-profile work with leading musicians. As well as playing on numerous records, she’s played live with Cheval Sombre / Sonic Boom, Pete Astor, Mark Mulcahy, British Air Powers (an early version of British Sea Power) & collaborates with Plinth (Michael Tanner).

Since forming, The Left Outsides have gathered fans far and wide, playing across the UK, France, Germany and in the USA on their own, and supporting kindred spirits including Dead Meadow, The Clientele and the Bevis Frond. In 2013, they played Phil McMullen’s Terrascope festival, Woolf Music. 2015 saw them play the main stage at Green Man Festival and last year, the band were invited by Robyn Hitchcock to play a stage he curated at the Rhytmn Tree Festival.

They’ve recorded radio sessions for Stuart Maconie’s Freakzone and Tom Robinson’s show on BBC6 Music and in 2015 they were Pete Paphides’ first guests to perform on his new radio show for Soho Radio. The band have frequently appeared playing their songs at the book readings of acclaimed author Tom Cox.

Released as a strictly cassette-only album, 2017’s ‘There Is A Place’ takes its inspiration from the forest, with the LP made up of new compositions as well as reworked recordings the band wrote and performed for Gus Alvarez’s film, Stand & Deliver. “In a woodland clearing lies the body of a young woman. A sharp intake of breath – she is alive. What happened last night? Into the woods she searches for answers”…

The Left Outsides will be on tour throughout the year.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Left Outsides – There Is A Place (EIA009)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *